Goodbye from an ancient user

Home Forums Multi-Edit Support Goodbye from an ancient user

This topic contains 8 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  Gorlash 1 year ago.

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author

Gorlash
    Participant

I have been using MultiEdit for so many years that I cannot even derive when I first adopted it!! :shock: I originally used it back in the MSDOS days, when I first looked at the demo version and discovered syntax highlighting… that was enough to actually make me abandon Brief, which I had never thought I would do. I still have my MultiEdit V7 floppy disks, but I know I used the version which preceded it. It has been at least 25 years, likely more, and it’s painful to think of leaving MultiEdit… but I was listening to a Fleetwood Mac song recently:

Well, I’ve been afraid of changing
    Cause I’ve built my life around you
    But time makes you bolder
    Even children get older
    and I’m getting older too

and I guess that’s how I feel now… I have considered the recent messages expressing that they have run out of money to continue development, with the final product far from done (I believe the phrase was "about 75% done"), and other comments pondering trying to raise money from the public to continue development…

… and after lengthy and careful consideration, I just don’t feel prepared to put up, let’s say, $100 on the off chance that enough people will take the gamble, to enable them to finish the job, nor (to be quite blunt) am I confident that they would really manage to get the job done even if they did get, say, another $150,000 or so.