the NTFS file system supports hardlinks. If an hardlinked file is edited with Multi Edit the hardlink will be removed. The reason is the way how Multi Edit save files. I assume that Multi Edit removes the existing file and creates a new one when the save file function is used. For example the simple Notepad in Windows does not have this issue. You can edit and save files without destroying the hardlink. Is it possible to enhance Multi Edit that hardlinks will not be destroyed if save file is used? Maybe that this behavior can be enabled or disabled in the Multi Edit settings.